Saturday, May 22, 2010

Cardinal wins the NCAA central regional at Notre Dame!

Conrad passes on links to three local articles about the Cardinal win at the NCAA Central regional ---

Story from - May 22

SOUTH Bend, Ind. - The second-ranked Stanford men's golf team shot a final round 274 (-6) to claim the NCAA Central Regional title by four shots over Florida State at the Warren Golf Course in South Bend, Ind.

Stanford's 54-hole total of 830 (-10) was four strokes clear of the second-place Seminoles and eight strokes ahead of third place Florida (838; -2). Also advancing to the NCAA Championships from the Central Regional were Duke (839; -1) and LSU (847; +7).

"We came in with the mindset that we wanted to win this tournament and we're excited that we were able to do so," said Stanford head coach Conrad Ray. "It was a great field and I felt it was one of the stronger regionals out there. We had a good vibe from the first shot we hit in the practice round."

The Stanford players finished in the top-10, led by sophomore David Chung, who tied for fourth at 206 (-4). Chung finished with a 69 today and finsihed two strokes behind medalist Drew Kitteson of Florida State (204; -6).

Steve Ziegler shot a final round 69 to finish at 207 (-3), good for fifth place.
Junior Sihwan Kim tied for sixth at 208 (-2) after a final round 70.
Freshman Andrew Yun recorded the best round of any of the Cardinal player today, firing a closing round 66 to climb up to a 19th place tie at even par 210.
Senior Joeseph Bramlett tied for 39th at 216 (+6) after carding a 72 on Saturday.

Stanford will join the field at the NCAA Championships, June 1-6 at the Honors Course in Chattanooga, Tenn., where it will be in search of its ninth national title.

The Pac-10 will be well represented in the final NCAA event with 8 teams qualifying from the 6 regions.

Pre-event summary:
Play begins with Stanford's players teeing off starting at 8 am. The team consists of Joseph Bramlett, David Chung, Steve Ziegler, Sihwan Kim and Andrew Yun. Five of the 14 teams will advance to the NCAA Finals.

Pre-Tournament News:
Coach Conrad Ray learned in a conference call about NCAA Regional Assignments:

"We have been assigned to Notre Dame's Warren Course. Here are the teams at our site by seed. 5 teams will advance to NCAA Finals. We will leave next Tuesday morning the 18th." Play will take place May 20-22.

1. Stanford
2. Florida
3. Florida State
4. Duke
5. LSU
6. NC State
7. Iowa
8. Michigan
9. Northwestern
10. Indiana
11. VA Tech
12. Murray State
13. Detroit
14. St. Francis

Nine Pac-10 teams have been assigned to the six regions with Oregon, Washington and UCLA also receiving #1 seeds. ASU and Southern Cal are #2 seeds, OSU is a #4 seed, Cal is seeded #6 and Arizona is a #9 seed. Washington State will be represented by an individual player, Kevin Tucker.

The Finals will be held June 1-6 at the Honors Course in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your comments below.