Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Sihwan Kim & teammates start strong in summer tournaments

The summer tournament season for Stanford's golf team members started well for Sihwan Kim in particular. Sihwan led all qualifiers for the US Public Links championship as he competed at Chino Hills #1 finishing with a two round total of 139. He will move onto the championship played at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club from July 13-18.

In addition, Sihwan, David Chung and incoming freshman Andrew Yun competed in the Northeast Amateur played in Rhode Island and Sihwan finished in 5th place with rounds of 65-70-68-67.

David had a solid event finishing tied for 34th with rounds of 71-70-68-70, while Andrew finished 43rd with rounds of 70-67-73-71.

Sunday, June 21, 2009

Steve Ziegler gets to the round of 16 at the British Amateur

Steve Ziegler, Stanford's 2nd team All-American with a world amateur ranking of 19, advanced to the 4th round of 16 players at the British Amateur championship played at the Formby Golf Club and West Lancashire Golf Club in England June 15 - 20. Steve was the final US player competing and he lost on the last hole to the eventual runner-up Darren Renwick.

In the two-day qualifying to advance into the match play portion of the tournament Steve shot 72-73 to finish in a tie for the 44th position in the 64-player match play draw.

Complete results can be found at http://www.randa.org/championship/The_Amateur_Championship

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Team and Individual Awards for the year

Conrad Ray, the Knowles Family Director of Men's Golf announced its year-end awards for the 2008-2009 season:

The Low Freshman Stroke Average goes to freshman David Chung with a 73.89 average - David was also selected to the All-Region team by the Golf Coaches of America.

Sophomore Graham Brockington was awarded the team's Most Improved Player award for the 2008-2009 season. Graham's stroke average dropped from 82 in 2007-8 to 74.6 in 2008-9.

The Most Valuable Player goes to sophomore golfer Steve Ziegler. Ziegler was also voted First Team All Pac-10 and named Second Team All-American (see the announcement below).

The Stanford Tradition award, an award given to the player exhibiting leadership, strong work ethic, academic excellence, and an overall appreciation of the traditions of Stanford and Stanford men's golf, has been given to senior Daniel Lim.

Lastly, The "Spooney" Award, which is given to the Stanford golfer displaying the most fight and tenacity while maintaining a never give up attitude, was also awarded to senior Daniel Lim.

The Stanford men's golf program is proud of these team members and looks to build on this leadership in the future.

Conrad Ray
The Knowles Family Director of Men's Golf
NCAA Champions : '38,'39,'41,'42,'46,'53,'94,'07

Golf Coaches Association of America
Monday, June 8, 2009
Division I PING All-America Teams Named
Second, third and honorable mention teams named

NORMAN, Okla. – The second, third and honorable mention PING All-America Teams have been announced by the GCAA. Jorge Campillo of Indiana, Rickie Fowler and Morgan Hoffmann of Oklahoma State, Southern California’s Matthew Giles, Matt Hill of NC State, Florida’s Billy Horschel, Kyle Stanley of Clemson, Washington’s Nick Taylor, Cameron Tringale of Georgia Tech and Marquette’s Mike Van Sickle were previously named to the PING All-America First Team

Blayne Barber of UCF, Texas A&M’s Bronson Burgoon, Bud Cauley of Alabama, UCLA’s Erik Flores, Georgia’s Brian Harman, Russell Henley and Hudson Swafford, Illinois Scott Langley, John Peterson of LSU and Stanford’s Steve Ziegler comprise the second team.

Third-team honorees include Coastal Carolina’s Zack Byrd, Harris English of Georgia, Wichita State’s Dustin Garza, Andrew Landry of Arkansas, Washington’s Richard Lee and Darren Wallace, Oklahoma State’s Trent Leon, Steve Saunders of New Mexico and Virginia Tech’s Drew Weaver.

All West Regional Team:
Knut Borsheim, Arizona State
John Chin, UC Irvine
David Chung, Stanford
Erik Flores, UCLA
Matthew Giles, Southern California
Tom Glissmeyer, Southern California
Austin Graham, UC Davis
Stephan Gross, Arizona State
Brady Johnson, BYU
Jesper Kennegard, Arizona State
Chan Kim, Arizona State
Espen Kofstad, Denver
Richard Lee, Washington
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
Tarquin MacManus, Arizona
Gregor Main, UCLA
Daniel Miernicki, Oregon
Eddie Olson, UNLV
Paul Peterson, Oregon State
Andrew Putnam, Pepperdine
Travis Reid, New Mexico State
Steve Saunders, New Mexico
Tim Sluiter, Southern California
Ryan Sprinkling, UC Davis
Nick Taylor, Washington
Darren Wallace, Washington
Daniel Wax, Denver
Steve Ziegler, Stanford