Friday, July 22, 2011

Andrew Yun and Steve Ziegler garner postseason honors

Stanford junior to be Andrew Yun was recently named to the 2011 All-Nicklaus team by the Golf Coaches of America.  Here is the announcement by the GCA on their website:

MARCO ISLAND, Fla. – The 24 honorees for the 2011 All-Nicklaus Team have been announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America. Players from Division I, II, III, NAIA and NJCAA were recognized for their outstanding play during the past collegiate season.

The All-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008, and is not only named for history’s greatest player but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Jack Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988. The Nicklaus Award is annually given to the top collegiate men’s golfer in Division I, II, III, the NAIA and the NJCAA.

The All-Nicklaus team is comprised of Cyril Bouniol and Alex Carpenter of Abilene Christian, UCLA’s Patrick Cantlay, Bud Cauley of Alabama, Cumberlands Pierre Carlsson, Edward Delashmutt of Mesa CC, Meridian CC’s Brandt Garon, Luke Guthrie of Illinois, Central Alabama’s Paul Harris, John Jackson of Cal State Monterey Bay, Texas Lutheran’s Ryan Kiel, Jimmy Kozikowski of South Mountain, Claremont McKenna’s Tain Lee, Justin Lower of Malone, Centre College’s Chris Morris, John Peterson of LSU, Augusta State’s Patrick Reed, Kyle Souza of Chico State, Oklahoma Christian’s Oscar Stark, Oklahoma State’s Kevin Tway and Peter Uihlein, Florida’s Bank Vongvanij, James White of Georgia Tech and Stanford’s Andrew Yun.

Steve Ziegler, recent graduate and captain of the 2010-11 team was also honored as one of 138 Division I golfers as a 2011 Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-American Scholar for his excellent golf combined with high academic achievement.

The announcement by the GCA on their website is shown below:

NORMAN, Okla. – Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars for Divisions I, II and the NAIA have been announced by the GCAA. A total of 138 players in Division I, 49 in Division II and three in NAIA earned the honor. Additionally, 20 honorees were added to the previously released Division III Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars. To be eligible for Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholar status an individual must be a junior or senior academically, compete in at least two full years at the collegiate level, participate in 70-percent of his team’s competitive rounds or compete in the NCAA Championships, have a stroke-average under 76.0 in Division I, 78.0 in Division II and NAIA and 79.0 in Division III, and maintain a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.2 in Division I, II and III and 3.5 in NAIA. A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your comments below.